Into the Grey

My GPS told me to turn. I turned. Even though I thought it was the wrong way. I’d been heading down a major highway. Straight shot to Banff except for a pivot or two. Easy. So why change course? Why listen?

I looked at the screen of my phone. It was in my cup holder. The screen said there was an accident on the way. The GPS rerouted me. Okay. I’d been getting Coke Slurpee snow splattered on my windshield the whole trip. Getting away from that was welcome. Especially since my windshield wipers were barely hanging on. The right one whipped around independent of the wiper, attached only at the stem. The left one only wiped a small window of vision. It was enough. But I preferred my whole window be clear.

I followed the new path. Some range road. No other cars. Speed limit was lower. But at least it was clear.

The problem was the road itself. White and bumpy with unpaved snow. I wasn’t sliding but I didn’t feel steady. If I had to brake or make any sudden turns I’d be in the ditch. A truck passed me, blinking its lights. I turned on mine. The sun was still out but the sky was overcast.

Very overcast. Everything was grey. The ground, the sky, the road. Soon the houses beside me were grey. The cars in the oncoming lane. The truck in front of me. I could only see a dark spot where the rear windshield was. Eventually the truck put on its hazard lights. Snow was falling like ash. Fluffy and grey. Everyone slowed but probably not enough. I could barely see. I realized I hadn’t used my wiper in a while. Wiping the windshield helped a little.

I rumbled along unsteadily on the snowy road. I recalled my stepmom talking about how she followed the guy in front of her once during a similar snowstorm, and the guy went in the ditch–so she did too. I kept my eyes on the truck ahead. At least I wouldn’t go in alone. Then the truck turned to another road.

When the snow cleared the roads were invisible. I followed slight tracks, alone on the road with no vehicle to follow. The way I jostled against rough snow made me think I’d slide off the road. Sometimes there was a huge ditch, or a lake below. I was way off course for what would have been the logical road. No one would find me.

I made it into a small town. The roads were just as bad and there were a lot more cars. One trucker in a massive semi kept slipping into the passing lane to go faster than everyone. I didn’t want the truck in front of me but didn’t want to speed up too much. I rumbled into the dirty chunky snow in-between lanes sometimes, pushed around by the wind. I was sure my car’s balance would be thrown off and I’d go sliding right under the wheels of the semi.

Made it to a major road. A paved road. Then home. The trip should have been 4 hours long. I was 45 minutes later than expected. With work starting in fifteen minutes.

That was my day.

 

 


 

 

Day 351’s three random writing prompt categories were, “Mist,” “Winter wonderland,” and, “Nonfiction.”

Literally my day today.

Just realized I meant to do a part 2 of yesterday’s prompt… Whoops.

– H.

Leave a Reply

