Day 31: Clone, Clone of My Own

Jace was married to his clone, Jase. This was unusual, but not wholly uncommon. Sometimes people loved themselves enough to want to love themselves. And so was the case with Jace/se, affectionately called JJ by their friends.

This was their first fight. It started when Jacen asked Jason if cats were inherently creatures of the dark side or the light side. This was while they were both on the sofa, stroking their genetically-tailored cat with its glow-in-the-dark tail. They called her Lightsaber, or Light for short. Her tail was purple, and gleamed in the evening dimness.

“Dark side, obviously,” said Jase.

“Why is that obvious?” asked Jace.

“Everybody knows that. Cats are dicks.”

“The dark side isn’t about being a dick. It’s about passion. Cats are too zen to be Sith. They’re more like Jedi. Therefore: light side.”

“Cats torture animals, knock things over for fun, claw you up just to get comfortable. No Jedi would do that. You know? Luke isn’t going to use his lightsaber nails to knead your belly.”

“Stop talking about lightsaber nails. If you want the glow-in-the-dark nails, that’s your choice, but I won’t be married to someone who has tacky nails.”

“Oh, you won’t be married to me? But I can do what I want?”

“Darling, anything you do to your body is going to be associated with me.”

“Because we’re married?”

“No, because we’re the same person.”

“Now you sound prejudiced. Now you sound like all of them.”

“Hon, no, I–”

“We worked our asses off just for the government to allow us to be legally different people. And then again, to be legally married. People are getting more tolerant, but it wasn’t easy–”

“I know. I was here.”

Light, sensing the tension, bounded away.

Jace sighed, and sunk into the familiar arms of his clone. “I’m sorry,” he said.

“Me too.”

“I just don’t like thinking our cat would join the Empire. Just because she’s a cat.”

“You’re right. Cats are different. Just like clones are different.”

And I guess that’s the moral of the story.

 

 

Today’s prompt categories were, “An unconventional marriage,” “A lightsaber,” and “An argument about cats.”

Okay, I don’t know where this one came from. I think my stories are getting weirder. I couldn’t even end this one without acknowledging its weirdness.

Once again, if anyone would like to suggest any prompt categories to add to my list, please leave a comment and do so! When they come up (remember, they’re randomly drawn from a hat), I’ll credit you. In case you’re interested.

– H.

 

Leave a Reply

