The “Hat Trick” Writing Prompt: My 365-Day Challenge

Hello again, Reader. It’s time for a change.

Starting today, I will be uploading a piece of flash fiction every single day until this day next year. It is my 365-day challenge.

To make things easier, and perhaps more creative, I will be doing a unique sort of writing prompt for fifteen minutes a day. I call it the “hat trick” prompt because I will draw three pieces of paper from a hat. Written on these pieces of paper will be ideas for characters, places, concepts, or items. Once I read the three pieces of paper, I will start a 15-minute timer, and write a piece of flash fiction that incorporates whatever three things I have drawn. 15 minutes only. All my editing and polishing must be in that time. Then I will upload my  story for that day. At the bottom of each post, I will write what three things I drew from the hat.

There’s no guarantee of genre, and, in 15 minutes, no guarantee of quality. But it will get my creative mind going and probably inspire lengthier stories in the future.

This isn’t to say I won’t do non-challenge-related posts from now on, but I think the bulk of my content will now be flash fictions. I’m excited to get rolling, and I hope that by publishing my intention here (and in the “about” page), I will keep it up for the entire 365-day period.

And if I feel like continuing to write whatever I’ve started writing for 15 minutes, I’ll post the continuation in the comments for that post.

Got all that? I hope so. Because my next post will be coming in a little over fifteen minutes from now.

– H.

3 thoughts on “The “Hat Trick” Writing Prompt: My 365-Day Challenge

  1. This is a lovely idea. I hope you pick up more of a following over the course of the next year, because these bite-sized pieces of imagination make for outstanding creative fuel in others. You might also consider posting these on writingforums.com. Those guys are pretty great.

    Anyway, good luck to you. Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

