The Curious Case of Destiny

I’ve been playing a lot of Destiny (the game) lately. Like, too much. And the Witcher just came out! I’ve been looking forward to witching for a long time, and Destiny has been out for ages. Yeah, yeah, DLC, but still. Destiny is the kind of game that makes me cringe, shake my head, groan, curse, or some combination thereof. There is a lot of fundamentally bad design from the ground up. So why am I playing it?

I always endeavour to learn why something is popular, even if I don’t like it. I will read at least a piece of Twilight, or 50 Shades of Grey (Gray?), play World of Warcraft or Call of Duty, ask all about the royal wedding. I just like to understand how it’s possible people could care about certain things. I guess it’s a psychological curiosity on my part. And I also like to think I can manipulate that psychological affinity for my own gain one day when I want to make something of my own popular. But that’s another post.

Destiny. Jesus, Destiny. Why? With the Light and the Darkness and the Scrotas and the I-don’t-even-have-time-to-explain-why-I-don’t-have-time-to-explains and the Wizards that came from the Moon. With the currently-popular celebrities that can’t voice act (or are poorly directed). With the fucking Grimoire cards that are the only things that explain what the motherfuck is going on, but you have to log onto a god DAMNED website to read them. With the repetitive and predictable level design (defend the area while Dinklage scans the thing!). With the awful, awful treadmill filled with so many grindy thingamabobs to upgrade the eight dozen different item types from the twelve dozen different vendor types. With the utterly unbalanced multiplayer. With the limit to 3 per striketeam, and the lack of matchmaking on anything that matters. With the lack of area maps, or compasses, to the point where I have to look up area maps online and hope I’m going the right direction.

Awful, awful. Amateur hour. It infuriates me. But I’m still playing. And having fun.

The core gameplay is enjoyable. I’ll give them that. And the aesthetic is fantastic. You’d think that wouldn’t be enough. I’d think that. But… I’ve been logging hours into this stupid thing every evening. I just don’t understand it no more, boy. Honest to goodness. If the issues mentioned above weren’t there, or were fixed, I expect I wouldn’t see the light of day.

Sorry. The Light of day.

Hire some goddamned writers, Bungie.

– H.

Leave a Reply

